every day

I’ve never told you that I love you
I’ve never said it aloud
But I tell you every day
It’s in my eyes, in the palms of my hands
It’s my arm out in front of you before we cross through traffic
It’s my hands against the shape of your face
Looking at you too long when the air is still and the world doesn’t mind
It’s the friction of my hand rubbing the surface of your back
My lips against the flesh between your thumb and your wrist
Making sure the sheets cover your heels when you don’t mind at all
Pressing flowers from you in my favorite book
The itch to feel sun rays in the morning and moon beams in the evening – your head down to your toes placed firmly on the ground beneath it
Lips against your forearm veins
You hear it every day

Leave a Reply

